W00tstock 2.4 San Diego, CA. and why I am going.

I don’t go to concerts, well, at least I have not been to one in YEARS!

I think the last concert I attended was KISS at The Forum back in 1975. Hey, I was hip. I wanted to “Rock And Roll All Nite”, and COULD party everyday! Yea, I have the “ALIVE” album, and knowing that I was there and, in a very small way, part of history, still brings a smile to my face. I know, I know, and YES there were over 1000 people there, but sometimes I think I can hear myself screaming along with everyone else. After experiencing KISS (And yes it IS an experience) maybe I felt it could never be topped.

I’m going to another concert, a different SORT of concert, I’m not even sure it can be CALLED a concert.

I confess, I’m a nerd. I’m a geek. I have the android phone with twitter, facebook, cinch and myspace all set on the main display. I also have the I-Pod Touch, just in case I miss something, I guess you can say I’m pretty hooked up.

Wootstock is 3 hours of geekfest hosted by Adam Savage (Mythbusters), Wil Wheaton (Star Trek TNG), and Paul and Storm who are two of the funniest guys you’ll ever meet. Their music and comedy are legend. You have likely heard them on Dr. Demento and didn’t even know it. One thing is for sure, you laughed.

Wootstock is (according to what I have read on the web) “A night of songs, readings, comedy, demonstrations, short films, special guests, and other clever widgets born from and dedicated to the enthusiasms, obsessions, trials and joys of geek pride.” In other words, a total geek/nerd fest, and you can even buy a T-Shirt to prove you were there. (Yea, I have one that was given to me by Adam Savage).

I was supposed to go to the Portland concert, the ticket was bought, hotel was reserved, and then a twit talking on her cell phone had to run a red light and plow into my Toyota.

So much for the Portland Wootstock. I was in the hospital for a week and a half! Bummer! At least I lived to tell the tale. Some people are not so lucky. Please make your car a “No Phone Zone”. The life you save MAY be your own.

Then there was Wootstock in Minneapolis, MN. a few weeks later. The show sold out before I could get a trip together. Lastly, there was Chicago, IL, missed that one too. Most people would have gave up by now, but not me. This is the 2nd year that the guys have toured, and I had missed the first tour all together. I was NOT going to miss this experience.

Now I will finally get my chance. Am I excited? Hell yea! I’m also hyper vigilant about crazy California drivers these days, I’m not going to miss this show because of some idiot!

Wootstock 2.4, Thursday July 22nd. in San Diego California. Close enough to drive to, enjoy the show, MAYBE get an interview with Adam Savage for “The NeverHood Show” (It’s in the works). And to top it off, my “Budskie” John lives there. I have not seen my friend in 7 years or so. The whole deal is a win win for me.

So why?

Because I KNOW it’s going to be fun. I want to have 3 hours of hanging out with people that “Get It”. 3 hours of not having to explain to people why I blog, twitter, facebook, etc… Not even my own Father REALLY understands it. “Why do you do that NeverHood Podcast if your not getting PAID for it”? he asks. My simple answer is “Because I CAN”, and I enjoy it. He’s much happier now that I have an On-Line store that sells “NeverHood” gear like hats and t-shirts. I could have just as well not had it, but I added it “Because I CAN”.

I want to hear what Adam, Wil, and Paul & Storm have to say. They speak my language. Bring on the geeky stories that Wil is legend for, bring on Adam with videos and Paul & Storm with the nerdy music. It’s about being a part of something, and simply understanding each other on a slightly different level. I want to be a part of that. I want to experience it, blog about it, do a podcast around it and tweet while I am there. I’m FINALLY going to W00tstock.

While it may not top KISS, I know it will have it’s own special place in MY nerdy world, and you can BET I’ll be buying the T-Shirt!

-Ethan Tudor W.

About Ethan Tudor W.

Hello, my name is Ethan Tudor W. I'm an Actor, and host of "The NeverHood Show" at www.blogtalkradio.com/ethantudorw You can also visit my Blog at www.ethantudorwneverhood.wordpress.com Filmography: Actor/ Host "The NeverHood Show", Blogtalkradio.com Actor: 2010 2009 1990s 1980s 1970s "Leverage"....Ethan (3 episodes, 2009-2010 -The Two Live Crew Job (2009) TV episode, 2.7 (credited)....Ethan -The Iceman Job (2009) TV episode, 2.8 (credited)....Ethan -The Reunion Job (2010) TV episode 3.2 (credited)....Ethan "Lovejoy" .... Jack (14 episodes, 1986-1993) - Goose Bumps (1993) TV episode (uncredited) .... Jack - Poetic Licence (1993) TV episode (uncredited) .... Jack - Stones of Destiny (1993) TV episode (uncredited) .... Jack - Three Men and a Brittle Lady (1993) TV episode (uncredited) .... Jack - Raise the Hispanic (1991) TV episode (uncredited) .... Jack (9 more) My Own Private Idaho (1991) (credited) .... Street Hustler, Ben "Aaron's Way" .... Jack / ... (10 episodes, 1988) - Solid Ground (1988) TV episode (uncredited) .... Orphan/Jack - Invisible People (1988) TV episode (uncredited) .... Orphan/Jack - Strong Foundations (1988) TV episode (uncredited) .... Orphan/Jack - Man and Boy at the Crossing (1988) TV episode (uncredited) .... Orphan/Jack - High Note (1988) TV episode (uncredited) .... Orphan/Jack (5 more) "Coronation Street" .... John Seth (4 episodes, 1987) - Episode #1.2710 (1987) TV episode (uncredited) .... John Seth - Episode #1.2709 (1987) TV episode (uncredited) .... John Seth - Episode #1.2708 (1987) TV episode (uncredited) .... John Seth - Episode #1.2706 (1987) TV episode (uncredited) .... John Seth "Silver Spoons" .... Tony,(7 episodes, 1982-1986) - Rick at 16 (1986) TV episode (credited) .... Tony - One for the Road: Part 2 (1986) TV episode (credited) .... Tony - One for the Road: Part 1 (1986) TV episode (credited) .... Tony - The Secret Life of Ricky Stratton (1985) TV episode (credited) .... Tony - Growing Pains: Part 2 (1984) TV episode (credited) .... Tony (2 more) "The Bill" .... Ian Phelps (12 episodes, 1984-1986) - With Friends Like That...? (1986) TV episode (uncredited) .... Ian Phelps - Loan Shark (1986) TV episode (uncredited) .... Ian Phelps - Public and Confidential (1986) TV episode (uncredited) .... Ian Phelps - This Little Pig (1985) TV episode (uncredited) .... Ian Phelps - Home Beat (1985) TV episode (uncredited) .... Ian Phelps (7 more) "The Facts of Life" .... Neighbor Kid (12 episodes, 1979-1985) - It's Lonely at the Top (1985) TV episode (uncredited) .... Neighbor Kid - Two Guys from Appleton (1985) TV episode (uncredited) .... Neighbor Kid - Taking a Chance on Love: Part 1 (1984) TV episode (uncredited) .... Neighbor Kid - Taking a Chance on Love: Part 2 (1984) TV episode (uncredited) .... Neighbor Kid - The Academy (1982) TV episode (uncredited) .... Neighbor Kid (7 more) Witness (1985) (credited) .... Menno Yoder,Amish "Days of Our Lives" .... Keven (3 episodes, 1981-1983) ... aka "Cruise of Deception: Days of Our Lives" - USA (summer title) ... aka "DOOL" - USA (informal short title) ... aka "Days" - USA (short title) - Episode #1.4381 (1983) TV episode (uncredited) .... Keven - Episode #1.4057 (1981) TV episode (uncredited) .... Keven - Episode #1.4051 (1981) TV episode (uncredited) .... Keven Dreams Don't Die (1982) (TV) .... Toy/Artist "Father Murphy" .... William (7 episodes, 1981-1982) - The First Miracle: Part 2 (1982) TV episode (uncredited) .... William - The First Miracle: Part 1 (1982) TV episode (uncredited) .... William - The Heir Apparent (1982) TV episode (uncredited) .... William - By the Bear That Bit Me: Part 2 (1981) TV episode (uncredited) .... William - By the Bear That Bit Me: Part 1 (1981) TV episode (uncredited) .... William (2 more) "Enos" .... Eagle Scout Intern (1 episode, 1980) - Blu Flu (1980) TV episode (credited) .... Butch, Eagle Scout Intern "Out of the Blue" .... Marc (6 episodes, 1979) - Double Jeopardy (1979) TV episode (uncredited) .... Marc - The Coin of Truth (1979) TV episode (uncredited) .... Marc - Stacey's Nightmare (1979) TV episode (uncredited) .... Marc - Laura, the Runaway (1979) TV episode (uncredited) .... Marc - The Hustle (1979) TV episode (uncredited) .... Marc (1 more) "Hello, Larry" .... Ian (5 episodes, 1979) - Rap with Ruthie (1979) TV episode (uncredited) .... Ian - The Trip: Part 1 (1979) TV episode (uncredited) .... Ian - The Trip: Part 2 (1979) TV episode (uncredited) .... Ian - The Hitchhiker (1979) TV episode (uncredited) .... Ian - The New Kid (1979) TV episode (uncredited) .... Ian "CHiPs" .... Shoplifter Kid (1 episode, 1978) ... aka "CHiPs Patrol" - USA (syndication title) - Surf's Up (1978) TV episode (uncredited) .... Shoplifter Kid The Bad News Bears (1976) (credited) .... Astros/Ballplayer
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to W00tstock 2.4 San Diego, CA. and why I am going.

  1. Asxena Morris says:

    Very cool Ethan, I’ll be there as well, and I hope you get that Adam Savage interview. You deserve to go. Glad you are finally going to make it to Woot!

  2. Heather Williams says:

    I loved this post. I’m sure you will have as much fun at wootstock as you did at KISS. I was at the Portland show. I don’t want to give too much away but you will have a great time! Let us know how it went!
    -Heather W.

  3. David Derocher says:

    Wow! So you must have the KISS ALIVE! album. I was a huge KISS fan, and still listen to their music. Sorry to hear about your car crash, that must have really ticked you off. I listened to your short podcast on the subject of using a cell phone while driving and agree 100%. I had never heard of wootstock until I started following your podcast, it sounds like a ton of fun. I’m in Pennsylvania and I don’t think they are bringing the show here, but if they did I would be all over it. Nice post, you hit a home run with this one!
    -David D.

  4. Steve Marshall says:

    Welcome to the world of nerd/geeks! Glad to see you made the trip. I was at the Wootstock in MN.I’m happy to hear you are going to make it to the San Diego show. I was rather hoping to meet you in MN. I kept my eyes open for you, but at least now I know why you could not make it.

    I subscribe to The NeverHood and hope you get a chance to interview the troops. Wootstock is hard to explain to people not in the know. I think your take on things is a little easier for the “Norms” to understand. Have a great time, even if you don’t get the interview, I know you are going to enjoy their show!

    -Steve Marshall

  5. Andrea McCormick says:

    No freaking way! I’m going to San Diego for Wootstock too! Will you be interviewing any of the Wootstock fans for the Neverhood show? I am a huge fan of Wil Wheaton and Adam Savage, and I can’t wait to see who the secret guest might be. I would love to meet with you and tell you why I went and what attracted me to this concert/fest. I look forward to meeting you there if you have the time. Have a safe drive. -Andrea M.

    • I might. That’s a pretty neat idea, maybe before the venue I will interview fans on why they are there and how they got there and learned about W00tstock in the first place. As long as it does not take away from the whole W00tstock experience for any of the fans. I may have to ask permission to do that, but it would be fun to get some people on my digi recorder to add the the show I’m going to do..hmm…I’ll have to look into it but yes. I’ll consider it!

  6. Janet Dunbar says:

    A friend just tweeted me about your blog and here I am. Very cool Ethan. I’m taking the Greyhound down to Woot in SD. It’s going to be a long ride but well worth it. I have heard nothing but good things about the show, and I have this feeling that as time go’s by, it’s only going to get bigger. Who cares about the bus ride, it will be one of those adventures I recall over and over again. On the other hand, if anyone from NOHO (or LA) is driving down, I would be happy to split the gas. I also think it would be fun to share the whole thing with a fellow nerd. I listen to your show and have really enjoyed it. I work during your live broadcast so have never had the chance to call in, but I will one of these days. I have all the shows on my ipod. I look forward to meeting you and if you do interview some fans, I would love to be on your show. See you at the gig! Great blog BTW.
    -Janet D

  7. Kevin James says:

    I remember you mentioning on the show that you were going to have my favorite host from “Mythbusters”, Adam Savage on! I hope you get to hook up with him at wootstock. I wish I could be there but I’m in NYC. Did you know you got a write up in The New York Post for your show with Davy Jones (of the “Monkees”)! I really like this post, keep writing. I look forward to checking in on it! Kevin J

  8. Nicholas Blair says:

    I have been following Wootstock since last years tour and when I heard they were going to do a special show for ComicCon in San Diego I jumped on it! I’m just waiting for tickets to become available. I look forward to meeting you there! -Nick

  9. alexpope1668 says:

    Sorry about the accident; it appears as though you missed a good show. That said, it appears as though each show has been good, so I expect the SD one will be similarly brilliant.

    I went to the Seattle one, and found the experience to be wonderful and geektastic (even if I did have a couple personally foolish moments) – I wouldn’t have traded it for a non-foolish time anywhere else.

    I’m about to note on Wil’s blog that I think w00tstock might be this generation’s Rocky Horror. The way he describes it in his story about how it was kinda a place for geeks to be geeks, is exactly how people seem to feel about w00tstock. In fact, it really comes down to the audience partici… pation, too. It’s got a similar feel in that regard methinks.

    Anywho – Adam Savage is awesome – got a chance to meet him in Seattle – so I also hope that you get to chat with him. But most of all, I just hope you’ll have the fun and feel the feeling that you should have been able to feel in Portland, sounds like you deserve it.

    Cheers.

    AP

  10. Chris Charters says:

    I love your show and was thrilled when I found your blog. I liked this entry best, so keep writing. I like what you have to say. Thank you for turning me onto Wootstock, without your show I would not have heard about it at all.
    -Chris

  11. Marsha Watkins says:

    I’m Going to the San Diego show too! I hope you get to interview all the guys for the neverhood show. I was really happy to hear that they were going to do this show, I heard about it on your show so thanks. See U there -Marsha

  12. Tardis2491 says:

    Like you Ethan, I have waited a long time to catch this show. I have not seen tickets go on sale yet, as of today. I hope the show lives up to the fan base it has created, and I’m sure that it will. I hope you can get a good interview with everyone. I would also like to see some quality video come out of the show and put on the web. I love Wil’s Radio Free Burrito and The NeverHood Show. Both you guys are GREAT!
    -Tardis2491

  13. Greg Weintaub says:

    I heard the commercial for Wootstock on your NeverHood radio show and came here to look. I have never heard of anything like this, and I like all the guys that are doing it. I’m going to be heading down for this, I think this is going to be “The New Thing”. Thanks Ethen, I look forward to it. Great show with Alison Arngrim by the way. -Greg

  14. Steve Farins says:

    Fun blog site dude! I heard about wootstock on your radio show, I’m waiting for an LA show. I voted for one so I hope they bring it here. Take lots of pictures, let us know how it went!
    -Steve

  15. Carol Carter says:

    I’m going to see Adam Savage. I like Wil, but Adam is my fave. I have never heard Paul & Storm, why don’t you play them on The NeverHood Show?
    -Carol

  16. William Boulder says:

    Mr. Tudor W.
    You talked me into it. I live just on the outskirts of San Diego and heard about the wootstock. I want you to know, I went to WOODSTOCK. I was there in the muck and grime, Aug. 15th and 16th of ’69.

    While that was a different kind of show, here is the one thing I want you to know,
    when you bring them together, with arms wide apart…is when strangers on a quest, become “One Of Heart”.

    I wrote that AT Woodstock YEARS ago, (On a Album Cover), and dug it out to read it because I heard about YOUR show. It’s a whole new world guys and I know I am a bit older these days, but it’s why you do it that makes sense to me. I look forward to seeing you guy’s in San Diego. You brought out the GEEK in me. That’s all that REALLY matters..Right? Now lets have fun.
    -Bill

Leave a Reply

